Are you Kidding me??
    • Sep 2006

The Secret of Being Funny

The Secret of Being Funny
    Gene gives young people the poop on humor
    By Gene Weingarten
    Sunday, November 5, 2006; W92

Dear Mr. Weingarten:
    I am a student at Montgomery Blair High School in Silver Spring. You are funny. What is your secret? I have analyzed some of your columns for my English class, looking for what we call "rhetorical strategies," but haven't found any.
    Sincerely,
    Allen Zhang
    Dear Allen:
    You weren't looking hard enough. "Rhetorical strategies" are important tools of famous, respected literary humorists such as myself and Mark Twain, although neither of us had ever heard of the term before looking it up on Google. It turns out we use them all the time! Here are some of our favorites.
    1. Sarcasm. This strategy is particularly valuable because you can insult stupid people, and they won't know they are being insulted. You must make sure never to use sarcasm on a smart person like George W. Bush, however, because, given the awesome magnitude of his smartitudinousness, he would figure out what you are doing and get the CIA to pour water up your nose.
    2. See what I did there, at the end? That is satire, another rhetorical strategy. Satire happens when you take a true fact (George W. Bush is in favor of torture) and make fun of it through exaggeration. (He would never actually torture you.) (You are just a high school kid.) (With a suspiciously communist last name.) (But you have nothing to worry about.) (Probably.)
    3. As a rhetorical device, poop is funny -- always, in any context, using any terminology. Ask yourself this question: Which is funnier, "fetal distress" or "fecal distress"?