X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • KinKyJ
    Platinum Poser
    • Jun 2004

I signed up

... as volunteer with the fire dept in my city. Some of my friends thought I was an idiot for exposing myself to the risks that come with the job, they might be right...

But anyway, since I'm a trainer/consultant in occupational safety I thought it would be interesting to experience some emergencies first hand. I mean seriously, talking about safety and not knowing how you'd react in such a situation yourself sounds a bit blas? to me.

Plus it gives me a good feeling to do something back for the community. Might sound pretty naieve at times like these, but hey, that's just the way I am.

Anyone on the board have experience with the fire dept? Putting out fires 'n' shit is one thing, cutting out a mingled body out of a car is something else
  • picklemonkey
    Double hoodie beer monster
    • Jun 2004

Re: I signed up

my grandpa worked his way up from a volunteer to become chief or second of the fire dept. he talks about how with his training he's always stuck determining which of two lives he's going to save and which he's going to let die. hope you can deal with that kind of shit bro... that stuff is bound to be tough. don't give up though, stick with it.

Comment

• Jibgolly
      Vortexuralizor
      • Jun 2004

with all the bullshit you post, i was relieved to see this one was actually meaningful.
      good luck and be safe Jan.

Comment

• palmer
        Retired or Simply Important
        • Jun 2004

I've actually been thinking about doing the same thing.
        I would like to give back to the community.
        todayistomorrow
        art direction | design | animation

Comment

• floridaorange
          I'm merely a humble butler
          • Dec 2005