X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 2eq
    Getting Somewhere
    • Jun 2004

Computer Help Needed...

Hope somebody can help me on this cause i'm banging my head against a brick wall here.

Its all to do with wirelessly sharing files...

I have a - Desktop P4 computer. XPpro with SP2 using a Belkin router

Which is connected wirelessly to a Laptop Centrino. XPpro also with SP2.

Now I can use the existing shared folder that is on both computers with no problems at all.

But when i try and add a folder like this...

... the folder that I select doesnt show on my laptop anywhere?

I've looked everywhere on the net for some tips on this but I cant seem to find any. What am I doing wrong?

And I also cant find out how to print a document from my laptop on to my printer via the wireless network. as the supplied wizard also doesnt work!

Sorry if it seems like I havent got a clue, it's just that i'm very new to all this Wireless business. I'd really appreciate any help on these matters.

Cheers.
    sweet in winter, sweet in rain...
    shake well before use she said
    you never touch me anymore this way.
  • picklemonkey
    Double hoodie beer monster
    • Jun 2004

try accessing the folder by typing this in your explorer location bar:

\\computername\My Music

It might not be appearing to the computer, but if the share exists you can probably just go straight there by typing the actual location.

Comment

• Morgan
      Platinum Poster
      • Jun 2004

Re: Computer Help Needed...

Little short of Info in your post.

I have a hard wired 5 client network, using a switch and router.

First things first. Hasve you set up the network connection correctly, can all your clients browse the internet?

You need to go to the properties of the folder and then sharing tab, then permissions, set the permissions to full control all. see if this works.

This should work, but as you are on a wireless network it will allow anyone who can gain access to you WiFi into your music.