X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • baktobasiks
    Fresh Peossy
    • Apr 2008

Production Building a studio

Hi my name is Jacob and I'm new to the board, this is actually the first of what I hope to be many post about dance music. I've been DJing for several years and want to make the move to production and playing live with ableton. I've been researching what to get and there are just to many options so I was hoping one of you could help point me in the right direction. I have a budget of $4000 US.

If there is already an existing thread that covers this please direct me to it. back to my rambling....

From what I've read and correct me if I'm wrong but the new imac 24" 3.06 dual/4 GB Ram would be more than sufficint as my computer. Some people have told me that going with this option forces me to use an exteranl card (understandably) and that I may loose sound fidelity. Is this true? If I go with this option it puts me at 1500$ left.
    I'm not exactly sure where to go from here.

I know an external sound card/midi interface is next on the list but I'm not even sure where to start. Any Suggestions? M Audio, Pre Sonus?

What would be the next to focus on? Seeing that I only have a 2 channel mixer would getting a 4 channel zone or pioneer be the logical step or do I dare say a Korg Xero 8. I know that doesn't relate to production but I want to be able to play ableton/vinyl/cd's.

I have 8" event 20/20 monitors that I use for my dj set up that I will use for production as well. Ultimently I want everythign inter connected.

I don't really plan on playing out to much here in San Diego (Promoters check how many friends you have on myspace before they listen to your demo, true story) so mobility isn't a consideration for any of the equipment.

TO recap:
    imac 24" yes/no
    external sound card/midi interface : suggestions?
    Mixer/midi controller?

My Goal: to make quality music and have the capability to dj with the same set up.