The only thing I can think of, is if the operating system was acting slow and it thought I was trying add the files back to the finder window, so it would of asked about replacing them. But hitting cancel shouldn't have caused them to disappear, it should have canceled the action no matter what the message. It was quite a number of files, and this all happend in a number of seconds. If they were going to be erased, I'm sure I would have been prompt another message, and it would have taken some time.
Now my files are gone from their original folders, and spotlight will not find them anymore. The files are not in my trash bin either. Isn't it ironic that I was openning the files to consolidate them for backup to a external hard drive. I think so. Any help?


Comment